Balance Tech and Expansion

Discussion on how to play against other humans.
JAB95
Balance Tech and Expansion

Postby JAB95 » Wed Mar 25, 2009 9:31 am

I have only played 2 online games (4 way and 1v1).

Both times I used UNITOL +1 Prod LGHW normal minuses (Repulsive, -Ship Def, -Ground Combat)

With the exception of the pro moo play in the 4 way I have had more population and less tech. I read through all the strategy guides I could find online. I struggle with balancing tech and expansion. With this race what is the best strategy:

Tech while expanding
Tech after main expansion

Does finding a good planet guarded by a monster change the teching strategy? Maybe tech MIRV to get the planet?

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Hothgadt

Postby Hothgadt » Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:52 pm

I am not a pro, but I'd say:

* you want to tech to supercomps only after taking a handfull of systems with Unitol, so housing and growing can go on full speed, while home world gets supers

* later in the game you will want to have a few dedicated science colonies (this huge ultra-poor world whose 30 pop dont seem to know what to do...). Everywehere else you only have automatic science (from rlabs, supercomps, autofacs)

* you dont need to be technologically more advanced than your neighbor. as long as you have lots more production to make up for it.

* it all depends on galaxy size , starting tech age, and the other players' style.

* delaying supercomp to get monster planet faster has pros and cons. I'd say that as long as you (1) have enough interesting other systems, and (2) no early rush is expected, you should get supercomps before mirv-nuces & battle pods and benefit from monsters once you have these.