Colony spamming and terraforming

Information, How-to's, and discussion about mod'ing Master of Orion II.
Februarius
Colony spamming and terraforming

Postby Februarius » Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:28 pm

Recently I'm playing Armada 2526 Supernova, the only new space TBS that got my attention after MOO2 (is this a sad world or am I just to picky :?:) The game realy has sam interesting concepts, one of them, not colonizable systems/planets, well at least not until you discover some late techs.

Couple of days ago I was on the game forums and I accidentaly stumbled across a mod with MOO2 races. I started playing it and again fell in that MOO2 trap. I just needed my MOO2 fix again. Last night I started my new MOO2 session again only to realize that one of the biggest flaws of MOO2 was colony spamming, and cheap terraforming. Sooner or later you end up with 20 gaia planets. This is the thing that always annoyed me in some way, space should be a little more inhospitable place.

After playing Armada I started to think is it possible to somehow introduce this game mechanic in to the MOO2? Only thing that comes to my mind is to increase number of toxic/gas giant planets in galaxy generation (but even them can be colonized) or to reduce the number of planets itself. Is there some tool to make galaxy more harsh enviroment (without using game option for mineral abundant-it isn't that much effective)?

Another point, terraforming and making artificial planets out of asteroids and gas giants, again colony and gaia spamm! Terraforming sholud be something hard to achive, requiring tremendous amounts of resources, time and energy. Can this be corrected somehow? What would happen if those twos production points would increase? Can it be done, and how would it affect the AI and the game balance?