Some ideas for remaking MOO2

Information, How-to's, and discussion about mod'ing Master of Orion II.
Matthew
Some ideas for remaking MOO2

Postby Matthew » Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:29 am

My background: I am a programmer with experience and also a gamer since childhood. My favorite games are strategy games. My favorite programming language is C++. I can also work with C and Pascal.

I think any remake should try to be as true to the original game as possible but update the graphics, multiplayer functionality and AI.

Essentially, you would treat it like a chess game. You don't change the basic rules of the game but you can create a more appealing user interface and make multiplayer less problematic. You could also improve the AI to make the single player experience more challenging.

The original ship building and combat system would remain much the same. You would just create new artwork for use with higher resolution graphics. You could also give everything better animations. You might also have voices go along with the characters.

With multiplayer, you would make playing over the Internet easy enough to make it the mainstream and make playing over LAN possible too.

I don't think anyone one person could do it all but a team of people should be able to produce a descent remake of a great classic.

Grig de Griz

Postby Grig de Griz » Wed Mar 15, 2006 12:54 am

See project "FreeOrion".
Link: http://www.freeorion.org/index.php/Screenshots

siron

Postby siron » Wed Mar 15, 2006 5:03 am

Free Orion is surely no remake of Master of Orion II.

IMO the name Free Orion is a bit misleading since the game is very different than the Moo series in general.

Matthew

Postby Matthew » Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:54 am

Free Orion is surely no remake of Master of Orion II.

IMO the name Free Orion is a bit misleading since the game is very different than the Moo series in general.
If anyone wants to start a MOO2-XP remake project I'd like to help out.

siron